Quantopian's community platform is shutting down. Please read this post for more information and download your code.
Back to Community
What's wrong with my algo? Up 1600%+ over 14 years

I'm fairly new to swing trading and especially Quantopian. Since I'm a simple guy, I wrote and tested a simple algorithm that does the following:

-Every Tuesday morning before market open, scan for the 4 stocks that rose the most over the past five trading days. The stocks are selected from a custom universe that includes those:
- with avg. daily vol > 20000 over the past one year
- outstanding shares > 1000000
- market cap > 6000000
- average close price over the past five trading days > 1.10 and < 10.00
- not LP, OTC, WI, and is a common stock

-Tuesday at market open, I short $10000 worth of each of the four stocks.
-Thursday at market close, I cover all positions.

-I have a single stop in place such that if the Tuesday or Wednesday closing price > 2x cost basis, the position is closed the following morning.

The backtest results show a gain of +1606% from 1/1/2003 to 12/31/2016. Since I consistently short $10k/stock in this algorithm regardless of portfolio value, a smaller and smaller percentage of the total portfolio is invested as time moves forward. Instead of re-investing and compounding the gains (which would probably not work with this strategy as the stocks are not the most liquid), I would withdraw $40k from the portfolio each year. Unless I'm missing something, which I admit I most likely am, this strategy shows that I could start with $40k and have a steady stream of $40k in income per year over the 14 year test period.