Quantopian's community platform is shutting down. Please read this post for more information and download your code.
Back to Community
Off by 1 minute?

Hi,

Newbie here. Seems like my log and the transaction is off by 1 minute. Why is that? And it seems that I have to run the full back test to get my results. Thanks in advance!

import datetime  
from pytz import timezone  
def initialize(context):

context.qqq = sid(19920)

def handle_data(context, data):  
  dt = data[context.qqq].datetime.astimezone(timezone('US/Pacific'))  
  if dt.year == 2012 and dt.month == 1 and dt.day == 5:  
    if dt.hour == 10 and dt.minute == 0:  
        log.info("Ordered 50 on %s" % dt.ctime())  
        order(context.qqq, 50)  
        log.info("%s" % data[context.qqq].price)  

Log Output:
2012-01-05handle_data:14INFOOrdered 50 on Thu Jan 5 10:00:00 2012
2012-01-05handle_data:16INFO57.43
End of logs.

Transactions List
1 - 1 of 1 PreviousNext
DATE SECURITY TRANSACTION

SHARES

PRICE
$ AMOUNT 2012-01-05 10:01:00 QQQ BUY 50 $57.44 $2,872.00

10 responses

Hello John,

The Quantopian guys can confirm, but I suspect that you are getting the expected results. The backtester is designed to simulate real-time trading on a daily or minutely basis. In your algorithm, when the backtest loop executes order(context.qqq, 50), you are simulating submitting an order. The order gets fulfilled in the next "tick" of the market for QQQ. Under the quick/daily backtest, the ticks are daily and under the full backtest, they are minutely. For highly liquid securities (I think QQQ is one), there should be a tick for every day/minute the market is open. There are a few more details to order submission/fulfilment, but see if this explains your case above.

For the quick/daily backtest, the datetime stamps are, for example (log.debug output):

2012-01-03handle_data:15DEBUG2012-01-03 00:00:00+00:00