Quantopian's community platform is shutting down. Please read this post for more information and download your code.
Back to Community
How can I get the 200 largest company tickers from NASDAQ to update monthly?

Absolute newb here. I just joined Quantipian and had never written in python up until a week ago. So far, I'm slowly succeeding at algo writing but I find rigid ticker input lists annoying. I'd like to create a monthly updating list that fetches the largest 200 company tickers by market cap from the NASDAQ website (http://www.nasdaq.com/screening/companies-by-industry.aspx?industry=ALL&exchange=NASDAQ&sortname=marketcap&sorttype=1) and returns them in the data[stock] format. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

8 responses

Hi Aitor,

Welcome!

The best way to dynamically set your universe is to use fundamentals data, specifically the get_fundamentls() method in combination with update_universe(), all within before_trading_start().

Market cap is one of the fields in there. There also looks to be a field called primary_exchange_id in the Company Reference namespace that might fit the bill for NASDAQ listed companies.

Check out the documentation here: https://www.quantopian.com/help#ide-fundamentals

There is also a field by field definition here: https://www.quantopian.com/help/fundamentals

Disclaimer